LEEUWARDEN 2018

LEEUWARDEN 2017

"In 2018 we will be showing how we Friesen celebrate life, how we courageously stand out from the crowd, to show the world our idiosyncratic way, our landscape is the stage and everyone is invited."

Leeuwarden, the capital of the province of Friesland in the northwest of the country with 100,000 inhabitants, shows a different side to what we are used to from the European Capitals of Culture of the past: no spectacular new buildings, no big names in arts and culture, no lighthouses. Leeuwardens' most famous children are the spy Mata Hari and a painter of optical illusion, M.C. Escher. For both of them there will be exhibitions in the Fries Museum, where you will also get an unexpected insight into the Frisian while visiting the permanent exhibition.

Under the slogan "Iepen Mienskip" ("Open Society"), chosen confidently in the Frisian language, the entire province is the venue of the Capital of Culture. The population was and is strongly involved in the organization and artistic matters - from the former Jewish and present-day multi-cultural district of Vorstreek to the Frisian villages around Leeuwarden. There is a strong sense of belonging together.

Important themes in the Capital of Culture year are furthermore: the public space, sustainable forms of life, "water" (close to so much sea, lakes, channels and canals), nature in general and the city palaces from the 18th century with their currently very different usage.
The city is in the middle of a process of remodeling: Old and new architecture are sometimes in vigorous confrontation. Various projects have been developed, such as the rededication of old city palaces in exhibition and project rooms, a prison became a hostel in which one sleeps in cells, a church with its movable altar, which becomes a concert location, or a former post office and an abandoned bank that get transformed into a hotel and a grand café.
Leeuwarden has not been selected as "European Capital of Culture 2018" due to a multitude of museums and theaters, but because of a thematically and sustainably oriented cultural program - thus the city could successfully prevail against the competitors Eindhoven and Maastricht.

Official homepage: https://www.friesland.nl/de/kulturhauptstad-2018 
Contact: info@capcult.org

Share by:

LEEUWARDEN 2018

LEEUWARDEN 2018

"2018 zeigen wir, wie wir Friesen das Leben feiern. Wie wir uns mutig trauen, aus der Masse hervorzustechen, um der Welt unsere eigenwillige Art zu zeigen. Unsere Landschaft ist die Bühne und alle sind eingeladen." 

Leeuwarden, die Hauptstadt der Provinz Friesland im Nordwesten des Landes mit 100.000 Einwohnern, zeigt sich von einer anderen Seite als wir es von den Europäischen Kulturhauptstädten vergangener Jahre gewohnt sind: Keine spektakulären Neubauten, keine grossen Namen aus Kunst und Kultur, keine Leuchttürme. Seine bekanntesten Kinder sind die Spionin Mata Hari und ein Maler optischer Täuschung, M.C. Escher. Zu beiden wir es Ausstellungen im Fries Museum geben, wo man in der Dauerausstellung auch einen unerwarteten Einblick ins Friesische bekommt. 

Unter dem selbstbewusst in friesischer Sprache gewählten Motto „Iepen Mienskip“ („Offene Gesellschaft“) ist die gesamte Provinz Spielstätte der Kulturhauptstadt. In die Organisation und künstlerische Belangen war und ist die Bevölkerung stark eingebunden – vom ehemaligen jüdischen und heutigen Multikulti-Stadtteil Vorstreek bis hin zu den friesischen Dörfern um Leeuwarden herum. So will das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl gestärkt werden.
Wichtige Themen im Kulturhauptstadtjahr sind zudem der öffentliche Raum, nachhaltige Lebensformen, „Wasser“ (naheliegend bei so viel Meer, Seen, Kanälen und Grachten), Natur im Allgemeinen sowie die Stadtpaläste aus dem 18. Jhdt. mit ihrer aktuell höchst unterschiedlichen Nutzung. 

Leeuwarden befindet sich mitten im Umbau: 
Alte und neue Architektur stehen in teils heftiger Konfrontation zueinander. Es entstanden Projekte wie die Umwidmung alter Stadtpaläste in Ausstellungs- und Projekträume, ein Gefängnis wurde zum Hostel, in dem man in Zellen schläft, ein Gotteshaus, das mittels mobilem Altar zu einer Konzertlocation wird oder ein ehemaliges Postamt, das sich gemeinsam mit einer aufgelassenen Bank zu einem Hotel mit Grand Café wandelt.
Leeuwarden ist nicht aufgrund einer Vielzahl an Museen und Theatern "Europäische Kulturhauptstadt 2018" worden, sondern aufgrund eines thematisch und nachhaltig ausgerichteten Kulturprogramms - damit konnte sich die Stadt gegen die Mitbewerber Eindhoven und Maastricht erfolgreich durchsetzen.




Share by: