VALLETTA 2018

VALLETTA 2018

6.000 inhabitants per square kilometer - Valletta, the smallest European Capital of Culture since ever.

But: The Capital of Culture concept of Valletta 2018 includes all Maltese islands, with the capital serving as a hub.

"We now have the opportunity to show that Malta is more than sun, beach, political intrigues and history", says Sean Borg of the Capital of Culture Foundation.

The focus of the Capital of Culture program is on promoting the European idea, strengthening international relationships, sustainable social, economic and cultural development in Malta, and actively involving the population.

About 1,000 local and international artists, curators, artist collectives, but also writers, designers and filmmakers have developed the approximately 140 art and cultural projects and 400 events.

This happens in exchange or in collaboration with artists from other Capitals of Culture such as Leeuwarden 2018 (Netherlands), Pafos 2017 (Cyprus), Wroclaw 2016 (Poland) and Eleusis 2021 (Greece), but also from Japan.
The focus in the Capital of Culture year is on combining historical and traditional with contemporary as well as highlighting the peculiarities of Malta: for example, the Maltese opera "Anna Refugjati" by the composer Mario Sammut, which addresses the refugee drama in the Mediterranean.

In addition to the cultural program, a large number of architectural and infrastructure projects have been developed and, most of them, already realised:
The star architect Renzo Piano has replaced the old City Gate with two cool concrete blocks. Also the new parliament building goes back to a design by the Italian architect as well as the reconstruction of the opera destroyed in the Second World War into an open-air theater.

Other projects for the renewal and preservation of some of Valletta's architectural treasures include the roofed market (Suq I-Antik tal-Belt) or the former abattoir, now home of the Valletta Design Cluster.

As in many European Capitals of Culture, this dynamic is a fundamental stone for the future direction of the city.

Official homepage: http://valletta2018.org
Contact: info@capcult.org

Share by:

VALLETTA 2018

VALLETTA 2018

6.000 Einwohner auf einem Quadratkilometer - kleiner als Valletta war noch keine andere Kulturhauptstadt Europas. 

Dafür aber schliesst das Kulturhauptstadt-Konzept von Valletta 2018 alle Maltesischen Inseln ein, wobei die Hauptstadt als Dreh- und Angelpunkt dient.

"Wir bekommen jetzt die Gelegenheit, zu zeigen, dass Malta mehr ist als Sonne, Strand, Machenschaften und Geschichte", freut sich Sean Borg von der Kulturhauptstadt-Stiftung.

Die Schwerpunkte des Kulturhauptstadt-Programmes liegen auf der Förderung des europäischen Gedankens, der Stärkung internationaler Bindungen, einer nachhaltigen sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Entwicklung Maltas sowie der aktiven Einbeziehung der Bevölkerung. 

Etwa 1.000 lokale und internationale Künstler, Kuratoren, Künstlerkollektive aber auch Schriftsteller, Designer und Filmemacher haben die etwa 140 Kunst- und Kulturprojekten und 400 Events erarbeitet. Dies zum Teil im Austausch und in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern aus anderen Kulturhauptstädten wie Leeuwarden 2018 (Niederlande), Pafos 2017 (Zypern), Wroclaw 2016 (Polen) und Eleusis 2021 (Griechenland), aber auch aus Japan.

Der Fokus im Kulturhauptstadtjahr liegt zum einen darauf, Historisches und Traditionelles mit Zeitgenössischem zu kombinieren sowie die Besonderheiten Maltas aufzuzeigen: Beispielsweise mit der maltesischen Oper "Anna Refugjati" des Komponisten Mario Sammut, die das Flüchtlingsdrama im Mittelmeer thematisiert.

Zusätzlich zum Kulturprogramm wurden eine Vielzahl an Architektur- und Infrastrukturprojekte geplant und zum Grossteil auch schon umgesetzt: 
Der Stararchitekt Renzo Piano hat das alte City Gate durch zwei kühle Betonquader ersetzt. Auch das neue Parlamentsgebäude geht auf einen Entwurf des italienischen Architekten zurück sowie wie der Umbau der im Zweiten Weltkrieg zerstörten Oper in ein Freilichttheater.

Weitere Projekte, die der Erneuerung und Erhaltung einiger architektonischer Schätze Vallettas dienen, sind der überdachte Markt (Suq I-Antik tal-Belt) oder der ehemalige Schlachthof, in dem sich nun der Valletta Design Cluster befindet. 

Wie in vielen Europäischen Kulturhauptstädten ist jene Dynamik ein grundlegender Stein für die zukünftige Weichenstellung der Stadt.

Offizielle Homepage: http://valletta2018.org

Share by: